The 5 Best Things About Going Solo To A Concert

I love seeing live music. When I lived in Reno, I had lots of friends to go to concerts with, and I probably went to a show at least once a month (sometimes twice!). Since I’ve moved to Sydney, it’s been a bitter-sweet experience. Obviously, it’s a major city, so lots of artists and bands that I love tour here, but I don’t have anyone to go to shows with now. My fiancé and I have similar tastes in music, but we don’t like all the same artists and I haven’t made many friends yet, so I’m often faced with the choice of either missing a show, or going alone.

I recently bought tickets to see two of my favourite musicians in concert in April and May. I’m super excited about their shows, but there’s a small part of me that feels a bit bummed out to be going alone. I wanted to cheer myself up about it yesterday, so I made a list of reasons why going alone to a concert might not be so bad…and then I started wondering if maybe it wasn’t better to go alone, after all 😉

1. YOU CAN SPEND MORE ON THE NICE TICKETS
When I went to shows with friends, either we paid for each other’s ticket, or we compromised on a price. Usually, that meant getting the cheapest tickets, which weren’t necessarily the best in the house. When I bought my tickets for John Mayer’s concert and again for St. Vincent’s concert, I realized I could spend the extra money for the fantastic seats, because, well…I was just buying them for myself. No one to argue with on prices, and no one else’s ticket to buy!

2. YOU CAN DANCE IF YOU WANT TO
…you can leave your friends behind (literally).

Seriously, though…how many times have you gone to a concert with someone boring who just wants to sit the entire time? Going alone, you can get out of your seat and dance all night if you want to! Or sit down instead of dancing with your obnoxious friend. Whatever you want to do…no one will be there to judge you!

3. YOU WON’T FEEL EMBARRASSED FOR SINGING ALONG
Speaking of judgement, have you ever gone to a show with a friend that didn’t know the artist as well as you did? And while you’re there, just singing your heart out, they’re silent standing next to you, giving you the side-eye? Well, no more of that! You can sing as loud as you want and to your heart’s content with no one to judge you (except maybe the other people at the show, but screw them!)

4. YOU WON’T FEEL EMBARRASSED ABOUT CRYING
Now, I’m sure I’m in the minority here, but I’m a really emotional person, music is very personal to me, and I’ve cried at a concert more than once. The worst time was when I went to see John Mayer in concert for the first time. I went with my friend, Olivia, who wasn’t a big fan of his, but liked his music. I am a lifelong fan (literally, I’ve been listening to him for half of my life). His music has gotten me through so much and I have an emotional connection to many of his songs. When he played my favourite song at the show, I started bawling like a baby. Olivia was just standing there awkwardly, patting me on the back, and I just wanted to say, “Leave me alone, I’m having an experience here!” Well, this time around, no one will be there with me when I start ugly-crying to “Your Body is A Wonderland” (just joking…that wasn’t the song I cried to. Or was it?! ;)).

5. YOU CAN STAY AS LATE, OR LEAVE AS EARLY AS YOU WANT
I’ve been on both sides of this one. I wanted to stay till the six song encore was over, my friend was in a rush to get out of the venue and beat the post-concert traffic. Another time, I wasn’t that in to the band and needed to work the next morning, but my friend wanted to stay after the show and meet the band. Either way, it sucks when you can’t agree on a time to leave a show. If you go alone, you never run into this problem; you can leave whenever you feel like!

Honestly, after laying out this list, I do feel better about going to my upcoming concerts alone. The one thing that I’ll miss out on is having someone to share the experience with, but hey- I can just come home and blog about it.

Leave a Reply

